2010 Human Rights Reports: Somalia

April 13, 2011 by Webmaster 

Somalia* has an estimated population of seven million. The territory, which was recognized as the Somali state from 1960 to 1991, fragmented into regions led in whole or in part by three distinct entities: the Transitional Federal Government (TFG) in Mogadishu, the self-declared Republic of Somaliland in the northwest, and the semiautonomous region of Puntland in the northeast. The TFG was formed in late 2004, with a five-year transitional mandate to establish permanent, representative governmental institutions and organize national elections. In January 2009an expanded Transitional Federal Parliament (TFP), established under the internationally backed Djibouti Peace Process (DPP), extended the TFG’s mandate until August 2011 and elected Sheikh Sharif Sheikh Ahmed as TFG president. The DPP stalled in 2009 as the government came under pressure from armed extremist groups and the TFG’s top leadership engaged in political infighting.

Full report

  • Share/Bookmark


6 Responses to “2010 Human Rights Reports: Somalia”

  1. agree with on February 8th, 2015 7:53 am

    I am regular visitor, how are you everybody?

    This article posted at this web page is truly fastidious.

  2. short-stories on February 14th, 2015 3:21 am

    People are willing too print it oout since it’s not 200 pages.
    The 7 Words System offers a simple instinctive rocedure that allows us to get a
    gredatly improved awareness off what precisely we are trying to
    find. You can also read previous issues that are available in e-paper if you required.

  3. weight loss on February 14th, 2015 9:02 am

    Weight Loss God’s Way teaches you how the point isn’t what
    you put in your mouth-it’s why you eat that matters.

    The key to fasting is returning to food in a smart way that won’t undo the progress you made during your
    fast. Although gastric bypass surgical procedures are an incredible weight loss surgery to pass through, it isn’t
    suitable for everyone.

  4. Paul Lewakowski on February 23rd, 2015 7:07 pm

    Joe Alvarez states he paid Lewakowski $105,000 to have a modular residence delivered
    to his lot in Lakeview.

  5. tips for Growing a beard on March 11th, 2015 7:54 am

    excellent submit, very informative. I ponder why the opposite
    specialists of this sector do not notice this.
    You must continue your writing. I am sure, you’ve a huge readers’ base already!

  6. galaxy note on April 12th, 2015 7:08 am

    What i don’t realize is in truth how you are not actually much more smartly-preferred than you might be
    now. You’re so intelligent. You know thus significantly in the case of this matter, produced me for my
    part believe it from so many varied angles.
    Its like men and women aren’t involved except it’s something to do with Girl gaga!
    Your personal stuffs great. Always deal with it up!

    My site galaxy note

Feel free to leave a comment...
and oh, if you want a pic to show with your comment, go get a gravatar!